top of page

The Leyte III Electric Cooperative, Inc. (LEYECO III) was duly organized on October 30, 1975. It was during this time when the Articles of Incorporation was made and signed at Jaro Elementary School, Jaro, Leyte. Upon its registration and incorporation with the National Electrification Administration (NEA) an initial loan was granted amounting to 14.6 million to finance the construction and operation of LEYECO III. Its service started on April 1, 1977 with only 372 residential, 9 commercial, 1 industrial, and 6 public building consumers at its rented temporary office in Alangalang, Leyte. It initially served the two (2) taken over municipalities of Pastrana and Sta. Fe from DORELCO while constructing the backbone system from Sta. Fe down to other municipalities. The first phase of LEYECO III’s operation relied entirely to the power generated by DORELCO. Here are the remarkable dates for LEYECO III’s energization of the coverage area:

A Brief History

Lighting Houses, Lighting Homes, Lighting Hopes

Our Slogan

The top performing distribution utility in the Visayas by 2030.

Our vision

Total electrification and efficient delivery of power at reasonable costs and responsive to the needs of Member-Consumers.

Our mission
  • June 17, 1977- first energization was made on at municipality of Alangalang.

  • September 28, 1977 - Energization of San Miguel, Leyte

  • September 19, 1979 - Energization of Jaro, Leyte

  • November 14, 1979 - Energization of Tunga, Leyte

  • December 22, 1979 - Energization of Carigara, Leyte

  • May 18, 1980 - Energization of Barugo, Leyte

  • June 4, 1980 - Energization of Capoocan, Leyte and the completion of the backbone line construction of the nine (9) municipalities covered by LEYECO III.

Came April 8, 1982 LEYECO III was tapped to NPC Power Barge at Isabel, Leyte. Consequently, on March 8, 1983 LEYECO III was tapped to NPC Tongonan Geothermal Plant, Kananga, Leyte where the power is sustained by 5MVA substation located at Tunga, Leyte. The first ever Annual General Membership Assembly (AGMA) was held at Agro-Industrial School, Alangalang, Leyte on February 25, 1978.


Amidst the desolation, setbacks and transition phases, LEYECO III has stood strong, and has expanded its perspective of lighting houses, lighting homes, and lighting hopes. Energizing the nine (9) municipalities, two-hundred eighty-five (285) barangays and forty-thousand one hundred sixty (40, 160) households. With the selfless and unending support and care of its member-consumers, employees and staff, LEYECO III will even soar higher and will remain true to its objectives of giving light to each and every home.

bottom of page